UMBC Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate shall have the authority to formulate and recommend policies, subject to the advice of the other Senates, and to the policies and procedures established by the Board of Regents or the UMBC President, with regard to the following matters: (1) Principles governing faculty promotion, tenure, retention, and rules and regulations; (2) Requirements for awarding undergraduate and graduate degrees; (3) Approval of graduate programs; (4) Approval of undergraduate major, certificate, and minor programs; (5) Periodic reviews of academic departments and programs; and (6) Operation and administration of research, scholarship, and creative activity.

Link to Questions or Comments form

For the 2022-2023 Academic Year, the following constitute the Rosters of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and the Faculty Senate:

Faculty Senate Executive Committee:

President: Susan McDonough

Vice President: Loren Henderson

At-Large Members: Mariajose Castellanos, Linda Dusman, Lindsey Loeper, Kevin OmlandLiz Patton

Members: Dawn Biehler (Chair of the Academic Planning and Budget (APB) Committee), Donald Snyder (Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee), Elizabeth Feeser (Chair of the Undergraduate Council), Andy Miller (Liaison from the Graduate Council), and Orianne Smith (Immediate Past President of the Faculty Senate)

Senators AY2022 – 2023: 

Africana Studies: Thomas Robinson

American Studies: Sarah Fouts

Ancient Studies: Molly Jones-Lewis

Biological Sciences: Kevin Omland

Chemical, Biochemical & Environmental Engineering: Mariajose Castellanos

Chemistry and Biochemistry: Joel Liebman

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering: Curtis Menyuk

Dance: Ann Sofie Clemmensen

Economics: Salem Abo-Zaid

Education: Shannon Sauro

Emergency Health Services: Lucy Wilson

English: Elaine MacDougall

Gender, Women’s +Sexuality Studies: Mejdulene Shomali

Geography & Environmental Systems: Colin Studds

History: Dan Ritschel

Information Systems: Foad Hamidi

Library: Lindsey Loeper

Language, Literacy & Culture: Ramon Goings

Mathematics & Statistics: Muruhan Rathinam

Marine Biotechnology: Ten-Tsao Wong

Mechanical Engineering: Weidong Zhu

Media & Communication Studies: Fan Yang

Modern Languages, Linguistics & Intercultural Communication: Tomoko Hoogenboom

Music: Linda Dusman

Philosophy: Michael Nance

Physics: Can Ataca

Political Science: Lisa Pace Vetter

Psychology: Lira Yoon

Public Policy: Mir Usman Ali

Social Work: Nancy Kusmaul

Sociology & Anthropology: Takashi Yamashita

Theatre: Joan Mather

Visual Arts: Kathy Marmor